Little Friends

Where have you gone, my little friends?
Has our dependency come to end?

Are you hiding in the shadows over there?
Or are you on the dusty dresser by the stairs?
Are you in the unswept floor, or in the trash?
Oh, I have lost you! Please come back.

Peek-a-boo! Friends! Come out and play!
I haven’t seen you in almost more than a day.
Your love is the one that I foolishly adore
It’s warm numbness I crave- more! More! More!

Little friends where have you gone?
Have you found new homes to haunt when the nights are long?

My longing leaves a bitter taste,
Like expired chalk gone to waste.
But the way it all slips past my lips,
I don’t need other friends than this.

I’ve got plenty of little friends you see,
I love them and they love me.
They’re white and orange and blue and red,
And so they get along with what’s inside my head.

Madness, madness, can’t you see?
I need pills so I can breathe.
I need pills so I can sleep.
I need pills to set me free.

Leave a comment