Little Victories

It’s the small things, really; that give us the momentum we need to keep moving forward. Tiny feats worth celebrating that make your heart swell three times as big as it should be.

All because you kept breathing.
All because you’re alive.
All because of the tiny victories.

The year passed in a blur – faded images of heartbreak, sadness, remorse. But vivid memories of success, pride, contentment… happiness.  The clock strikes midnight at the beginning of another book – 365 blank pages ready to be filled with the words of my life. It’ll be a book about my accomplishments, the things that kept me going: the little things. I’ll learn not to dwell on the circumstances of my failures, but rather the strength it took to overcome them. All the blood work that made me wonder if there was any left in me to test. All the MRI scans with black and white blotches that meant nothing to me. All the prescriptions that piled up and nearly drowned me in medication. All the waiting for bad news from the doctor.  Despite all of it,  despite the diseases and disorders, I was successful in my endeavours. I may not have been outstanding in regards to academics, but I didn’t let the failures in such things keep me down.

I’m proud of my little victories. They keep me alive.

Leave a comment